Hongqi

1 models · 1 trims · China
Importer
Metro Group (Hongqi Thailand) — official distributor appointed by China FAW Group Import & Export Co., Ltd. on 2026-01-09. All Hongqi models in TH are CBU from China. Registered legal entity not published.
Distributors
Metro Group (Hongqi Thailand)
Official Hongqi distributor for Thailand, appointed by China FAW Group Import & Export Co., Ltd. on 2026-01-09 (Changchun), with authority to appoint dealers. Boonvisut family dealer group, 70+ years in Thai automotive retail; also runs Zeekr, Toyota, Mitsubishi and Honda dealerships. Registered legal entity not published.
Official site

▸ Models

▸ Common questions

Which Hongqi EVs are sold in Thailand?

Hongqi has 1 EV on sale in Thailand. From-prices: E-HS9 ฿2,990,000.

What is the cheapest Hongqi EV in Thailand?

The E-HS9, from ฿2,990,000, is the Hongqi EV with the lowest starting price in Thailand right now.

Who sells Hongqi cars in Thailand?

Hongqi is distributed in Thailand by Metro Group (Hongqi Thailand) — official distributor appointed by China FAW Group Import & Export Co., Ltd. on 2026-01-09. All Hongqi models in TH are CBU from China. Registered legal entity not published..

▸ Recent activity

  1. 2026-12-31
    EV policy
    EV3.5 local-production offset deadline (1:2 by end-2027)

    Final deadline for EV3.5 participants to meet the 1:2 local-production offset (one EV imported in 2024 → two produced locally by end-2027). Determines whether brands can keep EV3.5 pricing in the years that follow.

  2. 2026-09-30
    Announcement
    Cabinet decision expected on higher excise for imported (CBU) EVs

    Ten industry associations led by TAPMA and EVAT petitioned on 14 May 2026 to raise excise on Chinese CBU EVs to 32%, or widen the imported-vs-local gap well beyond today's 8 points (2% locally assembled vs 10% imported). The Finance Ministry's package is expected to reach Cabinet within September 2026; importers have warned of 25-30% retail increases if it passes as requested. Date is the end of the stated window, not a confirmed sitting date. Affects CBU models only - locally assembled EVs are not exposed.

  3. 2026-08-31
    EV policy
    EV3.5 1:1 local-production deadline for 2024 imports

    Manufacturers who imported CBU EVs under EV3.5 in 2024 must complete 1:1 local production by 31 December 2026 to avoid penalties. Some brands extending the deadline. Affects pricing of locally-assembled vs CBU stock through 2026.

  4. 2026-06-17
    Launch
    Hongqi E-HS9 launches in Thailand at ฿2,990,000 (first 400 customers)

    Hongqi's Thai debut, distributed by Metro Group. One variant: the six-seat (2+2+2) E-HS9 full-size electric SUV, imported CBU from China, at ฿2,990,000 for the first 400 customers. No regular price has been published. Specs: 120 kWh NMC battery on a 400 V system. Dual permanent-magnet motors give 362 kW / 606 Nm combined, AWD, 0-100 km/h in 5.5 s and a 200 km/h top speed. Range 548 km WLTP and 760 km CLTC (the official site also gives 685 km NEDC). DC charging peaks at 140 kW, 10-80% in 48 min. Body 5,209 x 2,010 x 1,713 mm on a 3,110 mm wheelbase, 21-inch wheels. Included: 5-year/150,000 km vehicle and 8-year/160,000 km battery warranty, free 11 kW wallbox with installation, free first-class insurance and 24-hour roadside assistance. Showrooms: One Bangkok and Hongqi Mansion on Rama 2.

  5. 2026-05-10
    Announcement
    Hongqi E-HS9 opens for online reservations in Thailand

    Hongqi Thailand opened online reservations for the E-HS9 before announcing its price. Buyers configure the car, choose exterior colour and an authorised dealer, and pay a deposit online. The car has a 120 kWh battery, dual-motor AWD and 548 km WLTP range.

  6. 2026-01-09
    Announcement
    FAW appoints Metro Group as Hongqi's official distributor in Thailand

    China FAW Group Import & Export Co., Ltd. and Metro Group signed a strategic partnership in Changchun, China, making Metro Group the official Hongqi distributor in Thailand. Metro Group CEO Bodin Boonvisut signed. The deal covers dealer development, brand stewardship, sales and marketing, and after-sales service. Hongqi will be positioned across the ultra-luxury and premium segments, and the flagship E-HS9 all-electric SUV leads the Thai debut.

  7. 2025-11-10
    EV policy
    80% annual road-tax discount for BEV expires

    The 80% reduction on annual road tax for new factory-built BEVs registered between 1 Oct 2022 and 10 Nov 2025 stops accepting new entrants. Existing registrations keep the discount for the remaining year of validity.

  8. 2025-07-22
    EV policy
    EV Board adjusts EV3 / EV3.5 to favour exports

    BoI/EV Board updates measures to encourage Thailand-built EV exports as cumulative supply-chain investment passes ฿137 billion. Local-production offset rules tightened. BEV registrations reported up 59% YoY for the first 9 months of 2025; cumulative EV3/EV3.5 registrations exceed 238,000 vehicles.

  9. 2024-02-01
    EV policy
    Thailand EV3.5 subsidy package takes effect

    Replaces EV3.0 — reduced per-vehicle subsidies and tighter local-production requirements through 2027.

  10. 2024-01-02
    EV policy
    EV3.5 effective date

    EV3.5 measures legally take effect. EV3.0 subsidies sunset for new applicants; existing EV3.0 commitments still valid. Thai EV market sees inventory clearance pricing as manufacturers pivot.

  11. 2024-01-01
    EV policy
    Excise-tax cut for BEV ≤฿7M extended through 2027

    Battery EVs priced up to ฿7,000,000 continue paying 2% excise (down from 8%) under EV3.5, extending the EV3.0 baseline.

  12. 2023-12-19
    EV policy
    Cabinet approves EV3.5 — successor scheme

    Successor 4-year package replacing EV3.0. Subsidy bands tightened: passenger BEV ≤฿2M with battery ≥50kWh receives ฿50,000–100,000; <50kWh receives ฿20,000–50,000; pickups ฿50,000–100,000; motorcycles ฿5,000–10,000. Excise stays at 2% for BEVs ≤฿7M. CBU import duty reduced up to 40% in 2024–2025. Local production offset: 1:2 by 2026, 1:3 by 2027.

  13. 2022-03-21
    EV policy
    EV3.0 takes effect — first subsidies disbursed

    EV3.0 measures legally in force. Manufacturers begin signing MOUs with the Excise Department to access subsidies; passed-through to customer-facing prices over the following months.

  14. 2022-02-15
    EV policy
    EV3.0 package approved by Thai cabinet

    Initial 3-year EV incentive package: per-unit subsidy of ฿70,000–150,000 for passenger BEVs based on battery size, excise tax cut from 8% to 2%, import-duty reduction up to 40% for CBUs, with 1:1 local-production offset by 2024 (extended to end-2025).

▸ Community reviews

▸ About Hongqi in Thailand

Compiled from the Thai distributor's own site, launch press and government records. Every claim carries a source, and anything we could not verify is marked [unverified] rather than guessed · ~15 min read


At a glance

Hongqi is the oldest Chinese passenger-car marque (1958), historically the state limousine brand of China's leadership. Thailand is one of its first right-hand-drive markets — Singapore (Eurokars Group, May 2026) was first, with Malaysia to follow (Paultan, electrive, 2026-02-12, Thairath). Metro Group pitches Hongqi across the ultra-luxury and premium segments (story 1); the E-HS9 was styled under Giles Taylor, formerly Rolls-Royce's design director (Motorist).

Thai spelling. The official Thai site writes the brand หงษ์ฉี ("หงษ์ฉี ประเทศไทย (สำนักงานใหญ่)" — hongqithailand.com/about-us), as does Headlightmag ("หงษ์ฉี อี-เอชเอส 9"). Autolifethailand uses both หงษ์ฉี and หงฉี; 9carthai uses หงฉี.

Distribution & business

FAW first planned to run Thailand directly through a subsidiary, then switched to a distributor model; FAWIEC appointed Metro Group, which already operates dealerships for Zeekr, Toyota, Mitsubishi and Honda and is a Mercedes-Benz dealer partner (electrive, 2026-02-12). Metro Group describes itself as three generations and more than seven decades in Thai automotive retail; CEO Bodin Boonvisut (บดินทร์ บุญวิสุทธิ์) signed the agreement (Hongqi Thailand — story 1). Metro Group is "the distributor with authority to appoint dealers" (Thairath, 2026-02-13).

Pre-launch, a convoy of E-HS9s drove ~6,000 km from the Great Wall through Laos to Bangkok, flagged off on 2026-04-25 (Hongqi Thailand — story 3). Online reservations opened 2026-05-10 (Hongqi Thailand — story 2).

Volume targets (Metro Group, at launch): ~400 units June–December 2026, 2,000 in 2027, 4,000 a year by 2029 (Autolifethailand interview, Thansettakij, electrive). The February plan had been only 100 units for 2026 (electrive, 2026-02-12).

Local assembly: none, and no plan yet. Metro Group says FAW would consider investing in a Thai plant only once sales volume justifies it (Autolifethailand interview); FAWIEC had evaluated a Thai assembly plant earlier (electrive, 2026-02-12).

Distributor legal entity [unverified] — no source names the registered company behind "Hongqi Thailand". The site's news posts call the partner "Metro Autohaus" (story 1). The online booking flow lists two dealer companies: HONGQI S.P. GROUP CO., LTD. and TMK. Yanyon Co., Ltd. (hongqithailand.com — booking).

Showrooms

Name Address Opened Type
Hongqi Mansion @Rama 2 137/3 Rama II Road, Samae Dam, Bang Khun Thian, Bangkok 10150 · 02-119-1000 from 2026-06-19 HQ + flagship showroom (investment ~฿15–20 m)
Hongqi Showroom @One Bangkok G Floor, The Storeys zone, One Bangkok, Bangkok · 02-119-1000 from 2026-06-19 Urban showroom
HONGQI Kanchanaphisek 1631, 1631/2 Kanchanaphisek Road, Bang Phai, Bang Khae, Bangkok · 02-109-7777 [unverified] (listed by 2026-11-03) Dealer showroom; operator not named — the listing's contact e-mail (hongqispgroup@…) points to HONGQI S.P. Group [unverified]

Sources: hongqithailand.com — dealer network, Motorist (opening date), Autolifethailand interview (Mansion investment).

Network plan: 10 sales-service-parts (3S) sites within three years — five in Greater Bangkok, the rest in major provincial cities across the north, north-east, central, east and south; more than 20 dealer applicants were being screened at launch (autospinn, electrive).

Service centers

Name Address Authorized for Notes
Hongqi Mansion @Rama 2 137/3 Rama II Road, Bangkok sales + service [unverified] — service authorisation inferred from the 3S requirement, not stated per site

Metro Group calls its service approach a "Close to You" strategy and guarantees full spare-parts availability (Thairath).

Charging network partners

No public-network partnership announced. Every launch-batch car comes with a free 11 kW three-phase wall charger with installation (hongqithailand.com — exclusive offers).

Warranty terms

Listed by the official site under "Exclusive Offers" (hongqithailand.com). The page itself does not limit these to the first 400 customers; Motorist describes an "exclusive protection package for the first 400 customers", and electrive and Thansettakij tie the insurance, wallbox and roadside assistance to the first 400 units (Motorist, electrive, Thansettakij):

  • Vehicle: 5 years / 150,000 km
  • High-voltage battery: 8 years / 160,000 km
  • Roadside assistance: 24-hour, 5 years
  • Insurance: 1 year first-class (comprehensive), free
  • Wallbox: 11 kW three-phase, supplied and installed free

Whether the same warranty applies after the first 400 units is [unverified].


E-HS9 — full-size six-seat luxury electric SUV

Hongqi's flagship BEV SUV: 5.2 m long on a 3.1 m wheelbase, sold in Thailand as one variant with one powertrain and six seats. Thai press compared it with the Volvo ES90 at the ~฿3 m price point (autospinn).

Lineage & platform

  • Generation: first-generation E-HS9 (China production from 2020; production car shown at Auto China 2020 after the E115 concept at IAA 2019). Thailand gets the facelifted version — redesigned interior, retuned air suspension, updated battery — which reached right-hand-drive markets in 2026 (Wikipedia) ◐.
  • Thai-market build: the brochure designation is "E-HS9 Overseas RHD", a long-range South-East Asia specification (Paultan). Autolifethailand names the variant "E-HS9 Long Range AWD" (Autolifethailand).
  • Architecture: 400 V (Headlightmag, Paultan).
  • Origin: CBU, assembled in Changchun, Jilin, China (Wikipedia, Autolifethailand).
  • Platform name: [unverified] — not stated by any source consulted.

Lineup events

Date Event Notes
2026-01-09 Distributor appointed FAWIEC × Metro Group signing, Changchun (story 1)
2026-04-25 Pre-launch drive 6,000 km Great Wall → Laos → Bangkok convoy departs (story 3)
2026-05-10 Reservations open Online configurator + deposit (story 2)
2026-06-17 Launch ฿2,990,000, first 400 customers (Headlightmag)
2026-06-19 Showrooms open One Bangkok + Rama 2 (Motorist)
2026-11-03 Price unchanged Official site still lists ฿2,990,000 "special for the first 400 customers only" (hongqithailand.com)

Trims

E-HS9 Long Range AWD (6-seat) — ฿2,990,000

Pricing. The official site labels ฿2,990,000 the "ราคาแนะนำ" (recommended price), "พิเศษเฉพาะลูกค้า 400 ท่านแรกเท่านั้น*" (special for the first 400 customers only) (hongqithailand.com). Headlightmag, Thansettakij and electrive report it the same way — an introductory price for the first lot, regular price not disclosed (Headlightmag, Thansettakij, electrive). Only Motorist gives a regular price — "Normal Price 3,490,000 THB" in its spec table — ฿3,490,000 [unverified] — no second source; ฿3.49 m is also the top of the old China price range converted to baht, which may be where the figure came from (car250). Booking deposit ฿40,000; estimated delivery 60 days (hongqithailand.com — booking).

Spec Value Source
Launch MSRP (2026-06-17) ฿2,990,000 (first 400 customers) Headlightmag, official site
Current MSRP (as of 2026-11-03) ฿2,990,000 (still "first 400 only") official site
Regular price after first 400 ฿3,490,000 [unverified] Motorist only
Battery (kWh) 120 official site
Battery chemistry NMC (ternary lithium) Headlightmag, Paultan, Thairath
Cell supplier CATL ◐ (global E-HS9 spec, not stated for Thailand) Wikipedia
Voltage architecture 400 V Headlightmag, Paultan
Range (WLTP) 548 km official site ("548 WLTP")
Range (NEDC) 685 km official site ("685 NEDC")
Range (CLTC) 760 km official site ("760 km CLTC range")
Drive AWD, dual permanent-magnet synchronous motors official site, Headlightmag
Front motor 202 kW (275 PS) / 306 Nm ◐ split "202 + 160 kW", "306 + 300 N·m" from official site; front/rear attribution from Paultan
Rear motor 160 kW (218 PS) / 300 Nm ◐ as above
Combined power 362 kW (492 PS) official site, Headlightmag
Combined torque 606 Nm official site
0–100 km/h 5.5 s official site
Top speed 200 km/h official site
AC charging 11 kW ◐ Autolifethailand only; Headlightmag and Paultan say AC is supported without a figure; the bundled wallbox is 11 kW three-phase (official site)
DC charging peak 140 kW Headlightmag, Paultan, Thairath
DC charging 10–80% 48 min Headlightmag, Paultan
V2L output — [unverified] not stated
Connectors Type 2 / CCS2 [unverified] not stated; assumed from Thai-market norms
Seats 6 (2+2+2, second-row captain's chairs) official site, Headlightmag
Wheels 21″ ("21″ Performance Wheels", only option) official booking page
Tire spec 265/45 R21 Headlightmag, Autolifethailand
Length × Width × Height 5,209 × 2,010 × 1,713 mm official site
Wheelbase 3,110 mm official site
Ground clearance 175 mm Headlightmag, Paultan
Curb weight 2,636 kg ◐ Headlightmag, Thansettakij
Trunk capacity 255 L behind row 3; 1,747 L rows 2–3 folded ◐ Headlightmag, electrive
Frunk capacity — not stated
Towing capacity — not stated
Drag coefficient (Cd) — not stated
Approach / departure angle 21.3° / 21.4° Paultan

Source conflicts, resolved to the official site:

  • Height: 1,713 mm on the official site, Headlightmag, Paultan and Thansettakij; Autolifethailand and Wikipedia say 1,731 mm (likely a transposition, or the pre-facelift figure).
  • 0–100 km/h: 5.5 s official; Autolifethailand's spec list says 4.9 s.
  • Power label: the official spec box says "499 hp", but the same page gives 202 + 160 = 362 kW, which is 492 PS / 485 hp. Headlightmag (493 PS) and Paultan (492 PS) agree with 362 kW.
  • Range cycles: Thansettakij labels 760 km as NEDC and Daily News quotes 690 km NEDC; the official site gives 760 km CLTC and 685 km NEDC. electrive calls 548 km "WLTC"; the official site says WLTP. A 570 km WLTP figure for the Singapore-spec car is [unverified] (no source found) and not used here.
  • Boot: Autolifethailand gives 622 L as the base figure, probably measured behind row 2; 255 L is behind row 3.
Standard equipment

From Headlightmag, Paultan and Autolifethailand:

  • Air suspension with continuous damping control (CDC); double-wishbone front, multi-link rear
  • Matrix LED headlamps with auto high beam; welcome-light sequence
  • Panoramic sunroof; acoustic glass
  • Pop-out flush door handles; soft-close doors; power tailgate; active grille shutter
  • 8.8″ digital instrument cluster + two 15.6″ touchscreens (centre and front passenger)
  • Wireless Apple CarPlay / Android Auto; built-in 4G; OTA updates; Thai-language infotainment
  • BOSE 16-speaker audio
  • 50 W wireless phone charging (two pads per Paultan; Headlightmag lists one) ◐
  • Four-zone automatic climate with PM2.5 filtration
  • Leather upholstery; 256-colour ambient lighting
  • Powered front seats with memory, ventilation and massage; powered, ventilated second-row captain's chairs; power-folding third row
  • 7 drive modes
  • 8 airbags; ESP, TCS, HHC, HDC, electric parking brake (auto hold not listed by any source)
  • ADAS: adaptive cruise with stop & go, AEB, lane-keep assist, lane-departure warning, lane-change assist, blind-spot detection, rear cross-traffic alert, traffic-sign recognition / intelligent speed assist
  • 360° around-view monitor; TPMS; E-Call
Optional equipment / packs

None. The online configurator offers colour and interior choices and a single 21″ wheel (booking page).

Launch offer (first 400 customers)
Item Value
Insurance 1 year first-class, free
Wallbox 11 kW three-phase, free with installation
Roadside assistance 24 h, 5 years
Vehicle warranty 5 years / 150,000 km
HV battery warranty 8 years / 160,000 km

Source: hongqithailand.com ("Exclusive Offers"); the first-400 limit is from Motorist, electrive and Thansettakij, not the official page.

Colors

Exterior colours are solid single-tone in Thailand (China also sells two-tone bodies — Daily News). Hex values are the swatch colours the official configurator renders (hongqithailand.com).

Name Hex Image URL Available with
Pacific Blue #1E2B47 https://www.hongqithailand.com/web/image/bs.car.model.option/6/image Saddle Brown interior only
Imperial Black #110F13 https://www.hongqithailand.com/web/image/bs.car.model.option/4/image all three interiors
White Jade #E5EFE5 https://www.hongqithailand.com/web/image/bs.car.model.option/5/image all three interiors
Interior Hex Image URL
Shadow Black #2F3032 https://www.hongqithailand.com/web/image/bs.car.model.option/1/image
Ebony & Cloud (two-tone) #444448 / #CBCDCD https://www.hongqithailand.com/web/image/bs.car.model.option/2/image
Saddle Brown #AF7658 https://www.hongqithailand.com/web/image/bs.car.model.option/3/image

Press coverage names the interiors Graphite Black, Mysterious Gray / Crystal White and Saddle Brown (Thairath, Headlightmag); the names above are the official site's current wording. The Pacific-Blue-with-Saddle-Brown-only rule is in the configurator and in Paultan.

Versus competitors

Spec E-HS9 Kia EV9 GT-Line AWD
Price (TH) ฿2,990,000 (first 400) ฿3,899,000 (launch 2024-03-01; current price [verify] in kia.md)
Battery 120 kWh NMC 99.8 kWh NMC
Range 548 km WLTP / 685 km NEDC 647 km NEDC (no WLTP figure in kia.md)
Power 362 kW / 606 Nm 282 kW / 700 Nm
Seats 6 (2+2+2) 6 or 7 — TH configuration ◐ in kia.md
DC peak 140 kW (400 V) 350 kW (800 V)

Range AWD section; launch price from Headlightmag — EV9 launch). On the NEDC figures both cars quote, the E-HS9 claims 38 km more (685 vs 647 km). Against the EV9's launch price the E-HS9 is ฿909,000 cheaper and carries the larger battery, but its 140 kW peak and 48-minute 10–80% time are slow for the class.

Sources

Verification matrix

Field ✓ Verified Source Notes
BEV (no PHEV/EREV variant in TH) ✓ official site, Headlightmag
Trim name "Long Range AWD" ◐ Autolifethailand official site names only "E-HS9"; Paultan's brochure says "Long-endurance Southeast Asian version"
Launch date 2026-06-17 ✓ Headlightmag, Autolifethailand, Thairath, Thansettakij all published 2026-06-17
Price ฿2,990,000 (first 400) ✓ official site, Headlightmag, Autolifethailand still listed 2026-11-03
Regular price ฿3,490,000 ✗ Motorist only [unverified] — single secondary source
Battery 120 kWh ✓ official site + 4 press
Chemistry NMC ✓ Headlightmag, Paultan, Autolifethailand
Cell supplier CATL ◐ Wikipedia global spec, not confirmed for TH
400 V ✓ Headlightmag, Paultan
Range 548 WLTP / 685 NEDC / 760 CLTC ✓ official site press mislabels cycles; official wins
Power 362 kW / 606 Nm ✓ official site "499 hp" label on the same page is inconsistent
Front 202 kW / rear 160 kW ◐ official split + Paultan attribution
0–100 5.5 s / 200 km/h ✓ official site Autolifethailand 4.9 s rejected
AC 11 kW ◐ Autolifethailand official site only names the 11 kW wallbox; Headlightmag/Paultan give no AC figure
DC 140 kW / 10–80% 48 min ✓ Headlightmag, Paultan
Dimensions 5,209 × 2,010 × 1,713 / 3,110 ✓ official site
Ground clearance 175 mm ✓ Headlightmag, Paultan
Curb weight 2,636 kg ◐ Headlightmag, Thansettakij not on the official site
Boot 255 / 1,747 L ◐ Headlightmag, electrive Autolifethailand differs
Wheels 21″, 265/45 R21 ✓ official booking page, Headlightmag
Seats 6 (2+2+2) ✓ official site
Colours + interior pairing ✓ official configurator, Paultan
Warranty 5 y/150k km, battery 8 y/160k km ✓ official site, Headlightmag, Paultan listed under "Exclusive Offers"; first-400 limit from press only
Equipment list ◐ Headlightmag, Paultan, Autolifethailand air suspension/CDC from Autolifethailand only (and Wikipedia's facelift note); 7 drive modes also in Motorist and Thairath; wireless-pad count differs
Origin CBU China (Changchun) ✓ Autolifethailand, Headlightmag, Paultan, Wikipedia
V2L ✗ not stated
Cd ✗ not stated
Distributor legal entity ✗ not stated anywhere consulted

Announced but not yet on sale

None of these has a name, price or specification confirmed for Thailand, so none is in the catalogue.

  • Two more Hongqi SUVs in 2026 — a B-SUV and a C-SUV, names and powertrains not disclosed (autospinn, 2026-06-18, Autolifethailand interview — "three new models in 2026, all SUVs", the E-HS9 being the first; Headlightmag). Whether they are BEVs is [unverified]. As of 2026-11-03 neither has appeared on the official site.
  • Hongqi Tiangong 06 — mid-size electric SUV, reported in March 2026 as being tested in Thailand [unverified] — single Thairath report (en.thairath.co.th/news/auto/2919461, returns 404 as of 2026-11-03), not corroborated, no later mention.
  • E-HS9 four-seat version — Thansettakij reported in April 2026 that a four-seat E-HS9 is planned for Thailand in 2027 (Thansettakij) [unverified] — single pre-launch report.
  • Golden Sunflower (金葵花) series — Hongqi's ultra-luxury line, planned for display at Motor Expo 2026 (December 2026) (autospinn, Thansettakij, electrive). Thansettakij describes the Golden Sunflower Guoli limousine as made to order and sold only to buyers invited by Metro Group and FAW, with a 4.0-litre turbocharged petrol V8 (388 hp / 530 Nm, 8-speed automatic). Thai price estimates: over ฿50 m (April) and close to ฿100 m for a left-hand-drive car (June) (Thansettakij, 2026-04-24, Thansettakij, 2026-06-19). Not a BEV — out of scope. Revisit only if a battery-electric Golden Sunflower model is announced for Thailand.
  • Bestune — FAW's mass-market brand (separate from Hongqi), planned for Thailand with a D-segment model around ฿1 m (electrive, 2026-02-12). Not a Hongqi model.

Cross-model lineup history

Date Event
2026-01-09 FAWIEC appoints Metro Group official Hongqi distributor for Thailand (Changchun)
2026-04-25 E-HS9 "Belt and Road" convoy departs the Great Wall for Bangkok
2026-05-10 E-HS9 online reservations open
2026-06-17 E-HS9 launch, ฿2,990,000 for the first 400 customers
2026-06-19 Showrooms open at One Bangkok and Rama 2

Sales / market position

  • Registrations: not yet tracked.
  • Notable reviews: Headlightmag launch; autospinn E-HS9 vs Volvo ES90 comparison (July 2026, listed on autospinn's Hongqi tag).
  • Known incidents / recalls: none found in Thailand. In Norway, owners of earlier E-HS9s have complained about winter range and charging (Wikipedia).
  • Customer feedback: no Pantip threads of substance found yet.

Brand links

All sources

Official (Hongqi Thailand / Metro Group)

Thai press

International press

Reference


EVEVCHU